Australian Network of Structural Health Monitoring Workshop & The Smart Infrastructure Summit 2023

ANSHM 15th Workshop

The 15th Workshop was a great success! It was held from 23rd to 24th November 2023, at Townsville and hosted by Rockfield Technologies and James Cook University (JCU). Many thanks for the organising committee led by Dr Govinda Pandey, CEO of Rockfield Technologies as the Chair and A/Prof Rabin Tuladhar as the Co-chair. DBI and EngAnalysis were Gold Sponsors and Monash University were Silver Sponsors of the Workshop.

The theme of the 15th ANSHM Workshop was Infrastructure Digitisation for Net Zero Transition with Day 1 as The Smart Infrastructure Summit 2023 and the 2nd Day as ANSHM Workshop. Dr Govinda Pandey, the Chair of the 15th ANSHM Workshop made the following statement which summarised well the success of these two days of event:

The summit successfully brought together Australia’s leading thought leaders, researchers, service providers, and key users of infrastructure monitoring technologies. With over 120 delegates representing more than 30 organisations in attendance, including nearly 50 participants who travelled from various parts of the country to Townsville, the event’s substantial turnout underscores its significance and relevance. The key highlight of the event is the resounding emphasis throughout the summit on the pivotal role that technology can and must play in ensuring a decarbonised future.

On Day 1, the Workshop was opened with the Welcoming Speeches by Cr Jenny Hill, Mayor of Townsville City Council and Prof Jenny Seddon, Deputy CV Research of JCU and Professor Tommy Chan (Lead CI RIIS Hub Executive) whose speech served partly as a welcoming speech by introducing ANSHM gave his visions and directions for SHM and ANSHM.

Keynote Speakers:

  • Mr Michael Caltabiano, CEO – NTRO (ARRB)
  • Mr Jason Hall, A/Chief Engineer – Energy Queensland
  • Prof Ian Atkinson, eResearch Professor JCU and a Futurist
  • Prof Brian Uy, Scientia Professor of Structural Engineering – UNSW
  • Dr Torill Pape, A/Deputy Chief Engineer Structures, E&T – Dept of Transport and Main Roads
  • Dr David Henderson, Chief Engineer – Cyclone Testing Station, JCU
  • Dr Sam Mazaheri, Chair Northern Chapter PIANC ANZ and SI Specialist DBCT
  • Mr John Vazey – Engineering Manager, EngAnalysis
  • Prof Tuan Ngo – The University of Melbourne

All the presentations were very insightful covering SHM applications to roads, houses, buildings, ports and energy infrastructure and the views of the speakers on how SHM could help achieve Net Zero in 2050.

There were two panel discussions on the first day with details as follows:

Panel Discussion 1:    Navigating Asset Management Challenges with Ageing Infrastructure: Opportunities and Barriers in Embracing Transformative Digital Technologies

Panellists:                   Nigel Powers (ARRB) / Dr Torill Pape (TMR) / Peter Prasad (ARTC) / Kathy Noonan (Energy Queensland)

Facilitator:                  Prof Jianchun Li (UTS)



Panel Discussion 2:    Collaboration Catalyst: Bridging Gaps and Overcoming Barriers.

Pitches on Industry by Dr Torill Pape (TMR) and Bill Weston (Queensland Rail)

Towards a Purposeful Industry-University-Government Collaboration

Panellists:                   Prof Hong Guan (Griffith) / Mario Martini (CSIRO) / Dr Denise Hodge (JourneyTech) / Greg Bruce (Townsville City Council)

Facilitator:                  Dr Ulrike Dackermann


The two panel discussions gave many insights for both the University and Industry attendees for collaboration oppertunities to deal with practical issues on asset management using SHM technologies.

Day 2, Prof Ron White, Dean – College of Science and Engineering gave the welcome speech. Keynote Session, presented by the following Keynote Speakers:

  • Dr Robert J Heywood, Department of Transport and Main Roads
  • A/Prof. Colin Caprani, Monash University
  • Dr David Lo Jacono, Jacobs
  • Dr Desiree Nortje, Transurban

Followed by a panel discussion:

Panellists:                  Dr Robert J Heywood (TMR), A/Prof. Colin Caprani (Monash), Dr David Lo Jacono (Jacobs), Dr Desiree Nortje (Transurban)

Facilitator:                  Dr Govinda Pandey

After the Keynote Session, there was the traditional workshop presentations (24) arranged into two parallel sessions.

Please click the link for the event booklet giving you more details on the 15th ANSHM Workshop, serving as a memento of the memorable summit for those who attended the Summit, and serving as an information booklet for those who had not attended.